Bike Events, Bike News

Stage 2 2010 Santos Tour Down Under

The second stage of the Santos Tour Down Under is officially over, and not to spoil the moment, but it’s 2-wins in a row for ‘Andre the Giant’, of course we are referring to the big German, Andre’ Greipel

This stage is 133KM in length.  Earlier in the race, 3 riders made an early break away that included David Kemp, Olivier Kaisen and Mickael Delage, but they were quickly overtaken with 10Km to go.

With 5KM to go, the bunch was tight led by Jos Van Emden of team Rabobank.  The top sprinting teams including team HTC Columbia were all vying for the big sprint finish.  Team Sky made an early break as the teams and some riders began to fragment to the finish.  Team Sky continued to push the main pack near the finish to set up their main sprinter, Greg Henderson.  As the main pack rallied their positions, in the final left turn toward the finish, there is a crash in the field led by Peter Sagan of team Liquigas.  Fortunately, no one was seriously hurt.

Michael Rogers from team HTC Columbia helped push team HTC through a final climb to the last 1.5 Km to the finish.  Team Radioshack, led by Lance Armstrong began to increase the pace as both Team Sky and Team Radioshack jockied for position down the main stretch.  The finishing sprint was action packed with Jose Rojas making an early move to the finish along the right side of the pack.  Andre’ Greipel appeared boxed in but managed to pull through along the left middle for the 2nd stage win.  Greg Henderson was in a great position to win this stage, but was overtaken on the right by Andre Greipel in the final second of the sprint.  Robbie McEwen took third.

Results [Courtesy- Cycling Weekly]

Tour Down Under stage 2: Gawler – Hahndorf, 133km
1. André Greipel (Ger) HTC-Columbia
2. Greg Henderson (NZl) Team Sky
3. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Katusha
4. Robbie Hunter (Aus) Garmin Transitions
5. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank
6. Allen Davis (Aus) Astana
7. Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC
8. Luke Roberts (Aus) Milram
9. Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank
10. Jose Rojas (Esp) Caisse d’Epargne

General classification after stage two
1. André Greipel (Ger) HTC-Columbia 6-38.59hrs
2. Greg Henderson (NZl) Team Sky at 14 secs
3. Gert Steegmans (Bel) Team RadioShack at same time
4. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Katusha at 16 secs
5. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma Lotto at same time
6. Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC at 20 secs
7. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank
8. Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank
9. Robbie Hunter (Aus) Garmin Transitions
10. Jose Rojas (Esp) Caisse d’Epargne all at same time

King of the Mountains classification
Timothy Roe (Aus) Uni SA

Sprint classification
André Greipel (Ger) HTC-Columbia

Team classification
Ag2r La Mondiale

Young rider classification
Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma Lotto



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


January 2010
« Dec   Feb »

Older Posts

Blog Stats

  • 31,193 hits
%d bloggers like this: