Bike Events, Bike News

Stage 1 2010 Santos Tour Down Under

The first stage of the Santos Tour Down Under is underway and it proved to be an exciting finish indeed.  The first of six stages is now over.  132 riders began the race on a wonderfully sunny day in Australia.  The first stage is flat with a climb of Menglers hill near the end of the race stage.   Tim Roe began the early lead at 10km then joined by 2 other riders to gain an impressive lead over the peloton.   The race started rather slow with these 3 riders pulling away in the early stages of the race and gaining an over 9 minute lead on the peloton. 

At 45KM the lead pack was leading the peloton by 9:45 and the main pack began to make their move.  At 75KM the lead was down to 6 minutes as the peloton was hoping to reel back in the 3 riders on Menglers hill.  Tim Roe took the lead on the hill with the peloton close behind at 2 minutes.  Row managed to get valuable points at the top of the hill for the king of the mountain stage, but the pack was gaining momentum and closing in. 

The field at this point was down to 90 riders after RadioShack’s Yaroslav Popovych set a blistering pace and ran down the break.  HTC Columbia began to position themselves up for the closing and sprint with only 20 or so KM to go.  Team Columbia began to splinter, but Andre Greipel managed to hold off the bunched field with the stage win. 

Results: [Courtesy Cycling Weekly]

Tour Down Under stage one: Clare – Tanunda, 141km
1. André Greipel (Ger) HTC-Columbia 3-15.30
2. Gert Steegmans (Bel) RadioShack
3. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
4. Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC
5. Greg Henderson (NZl) Team Sky
6. Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank
7. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank
8. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Katusha
9. Jose Rojas (Esp)) Caisse d’Epargne
10. Valeriy Dmitriyev (Kaz) Astana all at same time
Other British
91. Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky at 2-58
103. Russell Downing (GBr) Team Sky at 8-22
109. Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky at same time

Tour Down Under general classification
1. André Greipel (Ger) HTC-Columbia
2. Gert Steegmans (Bel) RadioShack at 4secs
3. Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC at same time
4. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma Lotto at 6secs
5. Biel Kadri (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 6secs
6. Timothy Roe (Aus) UNI SA at 8secs
7. Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC at 10secs
8. Greg Henderson (NZl) Team Sky
9. Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank
10. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank at same time

King of the Mountains classification
Timothy Roe (Aus) UNI SA at 8secs

Sprint classification
Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


January 2010
« Dec   Feb »

Older Posts

Blog Stats

  • 31,193 hits
%d bloggers like this: